Public Speaking

İrem Kömürcü
3 min readMay 15, 2021
Photo by Kane Reinholdtsen on Unsplash

Hello everyone! It has been a long time since I wrote. I saw that many people had problems in public speaking, giving presentations, etc. I wanted to scribble something about it :) I hope it will be a useful article for you

So far I made many different presentations, recorded videos, taught a lessons. Until the pandemic period, I was presenting on the stage and I started making online presentations with the pandemic.

First of all, I have some questions for you. In this article we will look for answers to these questions :)

  • Still, hesitating to speak in public?
  • Is it difficult for you to present your job?
  • What benefits does public speaking?

It doesn’t matter that how many people are in

Before starting the presentation, it is a frequently asked question “How many people are in” Actually this is not important question. You think that as the number of listeners increases, your risk of making mistakes and being disgraced increases. However, an increase in the number of participants does not increase the risk. On the contrary, it means you will present yourself and your topic to a large number of people at the same time, and that is a nice thing. Don’t let the crowd scare you when you’re talking.

Be sincere and think sincere

As far as I have experienced, sincerity is very important in presentations. Let’s think like this; someone choose to listen to you rather than read in any source this information. Besides various presentation techniques, the most important thing you can give them is sincerity. Being sincere will make you feel comfortable too.

Don’t be afraid to make mistakes

When I started to public speaking, I was very afraid of making mistakes. Little mistakes or setbacks I made while speaking impressed me a lot. My self-esteem was getting low and I was getting too stressed. This was making the presentation worse. But over time I realized that listeners don’t notice these mistakes or cause trouble like me. If you don’t get stressed out when you make a mistake, you can correct your mistake quickly

Photo by Caleb Woods on Unsplash

Why is Public Speaking Important?

  • Improves leadership abilities; A good leader plays an important role with their speaking and presentation skills. Uses all these talents and experiences in team presentations, promoting and selling their work.
  • good opportunity for you to prove yourself; You can prove yourself by making a presentation. Sharing what we know and appealing to a large audience, It is a good opportunity to make your name known and prove yourself in that field.
  • Best ways to gain network; Public speaking is one of the best ways to gain network. You interact with new people as speakers.
  • The best way to learn is to teach; Making a presentation on a topic you lack will improve you. You will want to prepare for the presentation in the best way possible and it will increase your level of knowledge on the subject you will tell. Also, to be able to transfer a topic to someone else in a simple way, allows to measure your competence of the subject.
  • It’s a way to present your business; You can easily market your business with a good public speaking.

In this article, we discussed why we should be public speaking and how we should think about it. In my next article, I would like to answer the questions of what we can do during public speaking and what techniques we can use.

By visiting my website, you can get to know me more and follow my social media accounts. I am waiting for your questions and blog post suggestions. Thank you!

--

--

İrem Kömürcü

Google Developer Expert on Machine Learning | Data Scientist @Deloitte | iremkomurcu.com